Cause for optimism

Was it a revelation being in Winnipeg this weekend? Not really, no.

Granted, as my previous post suggests, now that I’ve decided to return to Winnipeg I’m finding it much easier to see the city’s positive attributes. Still, Winnipeg never stopped being my home. It’s where I grew up. My family’s here. And despite this being my last trip to Winnipeg, I would be lying if I said this trip wasn’t similar to so many that came before it. With one exception: for the first time in so many years, I found myself thinking of Winnipeg as a place where I could live and work.

Not quite a revelation, but a very pleasant about-face.

So, as I sit here in the soon-to-be decommissioned Winnipeg International Airport, about to board my final return flight to Ottawa, I’m filled with excitement and a newfound sense of purpose. I’m not just flying back to Ottawa after another long weekend in Winnipeg; I’m returning to Ottawa with a mission: prepare for the big move.

There’s much to be done, sure; yet, despite the enormity of the task at hand and all that’s required to complete it, I remain surprisingly serene.

It didn’t hurt that I had an excellent meeting yesterday regarding a few promising job opportunities; nor that I was able to spend some quality time with family and friends.

I know the next few weeks will not be without their headaches; finishing up my contract with my employer, firming up a date to hand over the keys to my apartment, making the necessary arrangements with u-Haul, redoubling my job search efforts, attempting an amicable separation from Rogers, packing.

Thankfully, from where I’m sitting right now, none of these things are insurmountable. In fact, I relish the challenge! The future is bright and I’m ready for it.

Leave a Reply

