Norm!

If, only a few weeks ago, you would have told me I would be spending my final Saturday in Ottawa having a beer with George Wendt, I probably would have scoffed at the suggestion. And yet, there I was, doing just that at Beau’s Octoberfest in Vankleek Hill, about an hour east of the city.

On tap were Beau’s famous Lug Tread Lagered Ale and their seasonal Festivale Ale.  The guest of honour was none other than George Wendt, who was kind enough to pose for photographs with fellow beer aficionados like me.

l_2048_1536_1227D738-3168-419D-BF33-BC3C40FCCCD1.jpeg

Ottawa-area restaurants, like my favourite, the Whalesbone, also set up stations and were serving up tasty morsels.  Those who did eat told me the food was delicious.  (I was on a liquid diet.)

It was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon, in the company of close friends, celebrating the Ottawa valley’s finest food and drink.

Best of all, when I look back on these last few days in Ottawa, I’ll have one heck of story: I shared a cold one with Norm from Cheers.

Leave a Reply

