Braised meat and snow shoes

I consider myself very fortunate. I have my health, and a healthy mind. But most of all, I have the most extraordinary friends.

If I ever needed to be reminded of this fact, I was quite recently when two very dear friends of mine invited me down to their cabin in Buena Vista, Colorado, two hours southwest of Denver. Joining us was another dear friend, all the way from London, England, as well as a further five who all currently call Chicago home.

For nine days, we ate (so much meat!) and drank and laughed and played (Wii Mario Kart!). It was lovely, especially when the backdrop to our revelry was the Collegiate Peaks.

Even a prairie boy like me, reared on flat land and an infinite horizon, was entranced by our surroundings. Hard not to be, really, when one is admiring the view from the comfort of a hot tub, beer in hand…

Leave a Reply

