Bloody fool

I’m feeling pretty sheepish right now.

On Monday, whilst doing the most basic of culinary tasks, slicing onions, I managed to cut off more than I’d bargained for: my finger.

Okay, okay; the finger’s still attached, but the nail is gone and I’m pretty sure the nail bed is permanently damaged.

I’ve spent the week with a massive bandage wrapped around my left index finger. It has rendered me nearly useless in the kitchen. Worse, it hurts something fierce, not only because I cut deep into the tip of my finger (mangling a series of nerve endings, I’m told), but also because the nature of the cut meant stitches were impossible; cauterization was the only option to stop the bleeding.

Still, I soldier on, humbled by my first culinary battle scar.

Leave a Reply

