Like open-faced sandwiches, but tiny

This past week we tackled canapés–those bite-sized snacks long a staple of cocktail parties and smarmy receptions.

I must admit I was a little skeptical of this assignment at first, but I quickly found myself taking great delight in the often delicate and precise manner in which these little items are assembled.

As the week progressed, I was even given a special assignment: tuna escabèche, which involves searing and then marinating the fish before serving.

I enjoyed the work, even if the end result was destined for some smarmy reception!

Leave a Reply

