Cooking turkey for cash

On Friday, on a bit of a whim and after some gentle chiding from one of my instructors, I competed in the college’s annual Turkey Cook-Off, co-sponsored by Granny’s Poultry and the Manitoba Turkey Producers. It was my first cooking competition.

Know this: I did not secure a spot in the top three, have no idea how I placed amongst the eight of us that competed, and I’m totally okay with it.

Honest.

I didn’t quite know what to expect, and had few if any preconceived notions how I would do. I just wanted to see what this competition thing was all about. And so, a little bleary-eyed at 7:30 in the morning, arrived in the kitchen to give it a bit of a go.

And go I did, producing the requisite appetizer and main course in the allotted time.

My offerings: a ground turkey ravioli with carrot purée and a browned-butter sauce, and a pecan-stuffed turkey breast roulade with a cranberry-red wine reduction.

Could I have done better? Always. Did I have fun and learn a thing or two along the way? Of course.

Mission accomplished, as far as I’m concerned. And hey, great practice for the forthcoming holiday season.

1 comment
  1. Pingback: Skills « Kris Ade

Leave a Reply

